View in Full Screen

© Copyright 2014 – World On Communications di Angelo Giammarresi

SJAUNJA Nature Reserve

Sjaunja Nature Reserve is part of the Laponian World Heritage Area. The Laponian area is big, 9 400 square kilometers and includes four national parks: Muddus in the forest land and Sarek, Stora Sjöfallet and Padjelanta in the mountain areas to the west. Besides Sjaunja Nature Reserve it also includes Stubba Nature Reserve.
World Heritage Sites are designated by UNESCO, a body within the United Nations. In 2002, there were over 700
World Heritage Sites, 12 of them in Sweden. A World Heritage Site is a place or an area indispensable to humankind.
In 1996 the Laponian area was designated both a natural and cultural heritage area… see you there!

  • Attraction SJAUNJA Nature Reserve
  • Address Laponia - Sweden
  • Contact Gällivare Tourist Office